SleepLESS

In the middle of the dark
Awaiting sleep, I lay
Its dead dark but my eyes clearly see
And listen what darkness has to say

Outblown by thoughts
When everyone sleeps
I feel haunted and scared
As that particular thought peeps

sleepless

Each night I lay meaningless in bed
Merciless thoughts consistently hit me
You’d see no marks on my body
But they do hit me, believe you me

What if I could be covered
In those two arms around me
That wouldn’t use me; keeping me pure
For providing me with support
They hide me in themselves
So thoughts couldn’t find me anymore

What if those arms, that smell
Are the only things I feel and see 
They help me asleep
And not sleep with me

The cycle still continues
I lay daily in bed, no one to caress
Trying to sleep
But indeed, Sleepless

24 comments

  1. lincahceria5 · March 24, 2015

    This is good but quite scary for me. Great job!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Aadhirai · March 24, 2015

    The emotion is beautifully captured in words!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. In My Cluttered Attic · March 24, 2015

    Shruti you are stronger than you think. But I see where that lack of sleep keeps your mind (creative as it may be) very exhausted. Hope you can get some rest, and wake up refreshed sweetheart. :o)

    Liked by 1 person

    • ShrutiInsights · March 24, 2015

      Hey Paul,
      Actually, words have immense power as you might as well agree with me and this is why writing makes us strong:)
      Thank you Paul, for your staying in touch constantly and providing feedback too! 🙂

      Like

  4. mike7sedona · March 24, 2015

    Sleepless yes, but you are asking for the impossible! It’s like a lamb in the den of wolves, asking to be sheltered, comforted and not troubled in way, that is, the usual way!

    But, that’s not the way of the world, and if you want to stay fully insulated away fom trouble, then you got to live in the comfort of your loneliness, sleeplessness keeping you company.

    On the other hand, if you want the warmth and support of the right pair of arms, you got to sharpen your claws, fend for yourself, without fear or favour, and succeed in finding the rightful arms to caress, comfort, support and help you sleep peacefully! Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. theonlysup · March 24, 2015

    Every bit says how much u want to feel loved..

    Like

  6. Vashti Quiroz-Vega · March 25, 2015

    Hello Shruti. This poem is intense and dripping with torment and exasperation. I’ve had nights like this. Not too often––thank God.

    Liked by 1 person

    • ShrutiInsights · March 25, 2015

      Hi Vashti,
      You’ve captured the essence of the poem. We girls, generally, have a thinking problem. Appreciate your honesty and I wish you never have such sleepless nights in future:)
      Thanks for your thoughts on this!

      Like

  7. vivachange77 · March 26, 2015

    Loneliness and persistent thoughts in the dark haunt your poem. Good work.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Prateek Kohli · April 6, 2015

    So soulful ! So beautiful ! So relatable ! The knife of loneliness is pierced deepest during the night. You write so wonderfully, Shruti ! It is one of the greatest pleasures for a reader to come across your words. These will now be in my mind everytime I am staring into infinity when the world is sleeping 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • ShrutiInsights · April 6, 2015

      I am grateful and thankful to receive such an appreciation from a writer as effortlessly good as you!
      Thank you so much for reading this and catching the whole point.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Prateek Kohli · April 6, 2015

        Well, this budding writer is really inspired by you. And I whole heartily thank God that I found your blog today. The day has been awesome since then, thanks to your spellbinding way with words 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        • ShrutiInsights · April 6, 2015

          Oh My Gawsh!
          Thank you.
          I’m dancing:)

          Liked by 1 person

          • Prateek Kohli · April 6, 2015

            That is a wonderful thing to know 😀 There is no happiness greater than being the reason of someone’s smile. And yes, I have done the same (no kidding) in the evening itself 😀

            Liked by 1 person

            • ShrutiInsights · April 6, 2015

              Haha 😀
              Really, so great to have met you! 🙂

              Liked by 1 person

              • Prateek Kohli · April 6, 2015

                Likewise, Shruti ! Pleasant surprise it was to find you 🙂
                Poetically speaking, It felt like in a desert, coming across an oasis while trying to suck moisture from cactii 😀

                Like

Say it.. I'm listening!!

